The Streets return with first new album in 12 years and accompanying film

today12/07/2023 12

share close

Mike Skinner has announced that The Streets are returning with their first full-length album in 12 years, titled ‘The Darker The Shadow, The Brighter The Light’.

The 15-track album is set to land on October 20, and will be accompanied by a feature film of the same name – described as “a tripped out noir murder mystery based in London’s clubland” – which Skinner has written, directed, shot, edited, scored, funded, and created his own special effects for.

Read this next: The Streets’ Mike Skinner: “It’s not cool to be 40, in a nightclub, getting off your face”

The LP, which is being released via 679 Recordings and Warner Music UK LTD, marks the follow-up to The Streets’ 2011 album ‘Computers and Blues’.

2020 outing ‘None of Us Are Getting Out of This Life Alive’, a 12-tracker featuring collaborators such as Tame Impala, Ms Banks and Hak Baker, is classified as a mixtape.

Skinner previously used the The Darker The Shadow The Brighter The Light for a side project, which released an album titled ‘The Streets’ in 2021.

Speaking about the album and film, The Streets said: “It has been seven long years working on this film and album. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do and after dipping my toe in with some shorts and music videos, I felt I was ready. I tried to go the traditional route for a bit, but it’s always served me better to follow my instincts and just get on with it myself, so I’ve directed it, acted in it, edited, sound mixed, funded, produced it all as well as written it. The album doesn’t exist without it.

“Ultimately it’s all the fruits of a decade on the DJ circuit, watching people in clubs and back rooms, testing out beats and basslines to see what connected – and putting it all together into ‘The Darker The Shadow The Brighter The Light’.”

Read this next: Mike Skinner: I have to get creative or I get suicidal or something

The Streets will also be embarking on a three-week headline tour of England and Scotland six days after the release of the album, beginning October 26 in Nottingham, and coming to a close at the London’s Alexandra Palace on November 16.

Tickets will be available from Ticketmaster, while people who pre-order the album will receive pre-sale access.

To mark the announcement, The Streets have shared the first single from the album, ‘Troubled Waters’, along with a music video for the track, which can be watched below.

Pre-order the album here and check out the artwork, tracklist and upcoming tour dates poster below.

1. Too Much Yayo
2. Money Isn’t Everything
3. Walk Of Shame
4. Something To Hide
5. Shake Hands With Shadows
6. Not A Good Idea
7. Bright Sunny Day
8. The Darker The Shadow The Brighter The Light
9. Funny Dream
10. Gonna Hurt When This Is Over
11. Kick The Can
12. Each Day Gives
13. Someone Else’s Tune
14. Troubled Waters
15. Good Old Daze

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it