Orbital release 10th studio album ‘Optical Delusion’

today20/02/2023 12

share close

Legendary UK electronic music duo Orbital have released their 10th studio album ‘Optical Delusion’ on Friday (February 17).

The latest album from Phil Hartnoll and Paul Hartnoll features singles ‘Dirty Rat’, featuring post-punk duo Sleaford Mods, ‘Ringa Ringa (The Old Pandemic Folk Song)’ with The Mediaeval Baebes on vocals and the latest from the LP ‘Are You Alive?’ featuring Penelope Isles.

The seeds for the album were sown during the pandemic lockdowns, with most of the music being recorded in the uncertain ‘After Times’. It marked the first time the brothers worked mostly separately, each contributing tracks due to social distancing separating the pair during the music making process.

Read this next:Orbital in The Lab LDN

To celebrate the release the Hartnoll brothers will be embarking on a nine-date UK tour between March 29 and April 8, taking their famous live set to Glasgow, Newcastle, Manchester, Bristol, London, Leeds, Cambridge, Nottingham and Brighton.

Last year, the Hartnoll brothers released a compilation celebrating Orbital’s 30th anniversary. ’30 Something’ featured reinterpretations of a number of their classic tracks including ‘Chime’, ‘Satan’ and ‘Belfast’ by the likes of Jon Hopkins, ANNA and David Holmes.

Read this next: We took Orbital’s Phil Hartnoll to a 2018 free party in the Welsh countrysideOrbital’s Phil Hartnoll to a 2018 free party in the Welsh countryside

It also featured studio recordings of a number of tracks that had previously only been played in live sets.

‘Optical Delusion’ is available on vinyl, CD, and digitally. To purchase click here.

Stream ‘Optical Delusion’ below:

Full tracklist of for ‘Optical Delusion’:

1. Ringa Ringa (The Old Pandemic Folk Song) (feat. The Mediaeval Baebes)

2. Day One (feat. Dina Ipavic)

3. Are You Alive? (feat. Penelope Isles)

4. You Are The Frequency (feat. The Little Pest)

5. The New Abnormal

6. Home (feat. Anna B Savage)

7. Dirty Rat – With Sleaford Mods

8. Requiem For The Pre Apocalypse

9. What A Surprise (feat. The Little Pest)

10. Moon Princess (feat. Coppe)

Isaac Muk is Mixmag’s Digital Intern, follow him on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it