Evian Christ’s long-awaited debut album ‘Revanchist’ is coming via Warp

today06/09/2023 2

share close

Evian Christ is set to release his debut album ‘Revanchist’ via Warp Records on October 20.

The announcement of the eight-track LP from the trance evangelist is accompanied by lead single ‘On Embers’, which builds from crunching foundations to hit transcendent heights with a gospel house sample weaved in.

A debut album from the Ellesmere Port-hailing artist is long-awaited, after he officially signed to Warp back in 2015.

Read this next: Lorenzo Senni mixes 30 years of Warp Records

Rumours about a full-length release on the legendary label has been bubbling away for years without surfacing.

Barcelona’s Sónar Festival announced it would be dropping in 2017 when confirming his appearance at that year’s edition, using a photo of the footballer Ibrahim Affelay which Evian Christ had supplied as his artist press shot, but it did not materialise.

He eventually released a debut single ‘Ultra’ on Warp in 2020, his first solo music release since his 2014 ‘Waterfall’ EP on the now-shuttered Tri Angle label. He had production credits on releases by rappers such as Le1f, Travis Scott and Danny Brown in the meantime, following his work on Kanye West’s 2013 album ‘Yeezus’, as well as helming the Trance Party club night series.

Read this next: Always euphoric: Evian Christ’s Trance Party shows no signs of coming down

Now his debut solo LP is officially confirmed, with features from Bladee and Merely included. There are also samples from the likes of Emptyset, Madonna and Laibach, while the mixing and sound design is inspired by Sasha’s ‘Xpander’ EP.

The artwork is designed by David Rudnick, featuring work from 19th century Norwegian landscape painter Lars Hertervig and British video artist Chris Bucklow.

Evian Christ has tour dates around Europe and in New York across the remainder of the year, playing a mixture of live shows and DJ sets.

Listen to ‘On Embers’ and check out the artwork and tracklist below. Pre-order the album here.

01 — On Embers
02 — Yxguden (f. Bladee)
03 — The Beach
04 — Nobody Else
05 — Silence
06 — Xkyrgios
07 — With Me (f. Merely)
08 — Run Boys Run

Patrick Hinton is Mixmag’s Editor & Digital Director, follow him on Twitter

Written by: Tim Hopkins

Rate it